Feb 19, 2020 | Student Success , Health Sciences , Featured , Academics

Columbia State Pins 47 New AAEMT Grads

AAEMT 2019 grads

Columbia State Community College emergency medical technician faculty recently pinned 47 new advanced emergency medical technicians upon completion of an accelerated program in a ceremony held in the Webster Athletic Center.

“We are proud of what the faculty and students accomplished in a first of its kind, single semester program format for students to go from no licensure to licensed AEMTs,” said Dr. David Cauthen, Columbia State program director and associate professor of emergency medical technology. 

An EMT provides basic life support at the site of illnesses and injuries, assisting with transport to the hospital. The Advanced EMT provides basic and advanced life support at sites of illnesses and injuries through transport to the hospital. 

The accelerated advanced emergency medical technician course is an academy-style, semester-long program designed to educate and train students to serve as a vital member of a pre-hospital EMS team. Students must complete 144 hours of clinical rotations to earn a technical certificate in AAEMT.

“The National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians and the Tennessee Emergency Medical Services Board took a chance on approving Columbia State to offer AEMT on an unconventional timeline,” said Dr. Kae Fleming, Columbia State dean of the Health Sciences Division and professor of radiologic technology. “The faculty maintained standards of excellence and the students exceeded every state and national benchmark.”

The course provides students with the necessary didactic and practical training to perform life-saving skills. Additionally, students will learn to work alone, as well as in a squad-based (team) environment. 

“These students exemplify commitment to hard work and passion for service,” said Greg Johnson, Columbia State emergency medical technology program coordinator. “These students and our faculty worked hard to reach this milestone. As a result, the lives of these graduates, their families, their friends and people in the community will benefit immensely.” 

For more information about the EMS program, visit www.ColumbiaState.edu/EMS or contact Johnson at 931.540.2792.

Maury County
Photo Caption:
 Maury County: Pictured (left to right): Mason Potts, Carter Prescott, Aaron Grooms, Colton Manning, Morgan Runions and Charley Black.

Williamson County
Photo Caption:
 Williamson County: Pictured (front row, left to right): JT Ragsdale, Ruvim Markevich, Paisley Ford, Chase Yancy, Destiny Parkinson, Trevor Denault, Alex Winer and Kayla Dunn. Pictured (back row, left to right): Christian Tidmore, Brian Spock, Theodore Meiter, Andrew Bowden, Josh Hall and Connor Patton.

Photo Caption: Davidson County: Pictured (left to right): Erica Johnston and Theodore Paquin. 

Marshall County 
Photo Caption: Marshall County: Pictured (left to right): Kitt Cook, Nathan Pruitt and Stuart Brooks.

Photo Caption: Giles County: Pictured (left to right): Gabrielle Wiser and Mason Whybrew. 

Wayne County 
Photo Caption: Wayne County: Jessica Ray

Rutherford County 
Photo Caption: Rutherford County: Pictured (left to right):  Savannah Stevens and Nathan Brown.

Bedford County 
Photo Caption: Bedford County: Pictured (left to right): Shelby Fann, Julia Brown and Andi Harwell.

Dickson County 
Photo Caption: Dickson County: Pictured (left to right): Gloria Martin, Ty Siever, Toni Stinson, Tesha Neblett, Chris Johnson and Darin Owen.

Humphreys County 
Photo Caption: Humphreys County: Pictured (left to right): Austin Stewart and Summer Brown.

Lewis County 
Photo Caption: Lewis County: Pictured (left to right): Ty Siever and Erica Calvin.

Cheatham County 
Photo Caption (DSC_1988): Cheatham County: Natalie Montgomery