May 19, 2015

Columbia State Announces Summer Math Academy Dates

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - May 19, 2015) - - -
Columbia State Community College's Office of Access and Diversity is now accepting applications for its annual "Math for Life" Summer Math Academy.

"We are excited to host our seventh math academy this summer," said Dr. Christa Martin, assistant to the president for access and diversity. "We provide this opportunity for middle school students so they can increase their knowledge of math through a series of fun, interactive workshops that will help them improve their academic performance by identifying strengths as a way to overcome any academic challenges they may have."

Martin explained that the goal is for students to have fun and learn fundamentals that will help them in everyday situations that they may or may not realize involve math, such as balancing a checkbook, traveling or redecorating a room.

The Summer Math Academy is open to students who are currently in 6th, 7th or 8th grades during the 2014-2015 academic year. Each academy is open to 20 students, and each student will be accepted through an application process. For the application and other necessary forms, visit

The Summer Math Academy will take place Monday through Thursday from 8:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. at the following Columbia State campuses. Lunch and snacks will be provided each day, and all academy materials needed by the student will be provided. On Thursday, the academy will close with a student completion and awards ceremony.

Lawrence County Campus June 15 - 18 Deadline to apply: June 5
Clifton Campus June 22 - 25 Deadline to apply: June 16
Columbia Campus July 6 - 9 Deadline to apply: June 25
Lewisburg Campus July 13 - 16 Deadline to apply: July 2
Williamson Campus July 20 - 23 Deadline to apply: July 9

    The office of access and diversity develops and implements programs, activities and initiatives in an effort to heighten the awareness, presence and success of ethnic minorities and other under-represented groups. Columbia State works to establish a safe, nurturing and accessible environment that fosters the free and civil exchange of ideas and perspectives. To learn more, visit

    Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, one of the largest higher education systems in the nation. For more information, please visit

    Tennessee's Community Colleges is a system of 13 colleges offering a high-quality, affordable, convenient and personal education to prepare students to achieve their educational and career goals in two years or less. We offer associate degree and certificate programs, workforce development programs and transfer pathways to four-year degrees. For more information, please visit us online at

    # # #