Jun 11, 2013

Golf Tournament Winners Announced

(COLUMBIA, Tenn. - June 10, 2013) - - - On Thursday, June 6, the Rogers Group, Inc., presented the 17th Annual J.R. Moon Golf Classic hosted by Columbia State Community College at the Saddle Creek Golf Club.

"Each year, this tournament allows us to provide scholarships to students who attend the Lewisburg campus," said Molly Cochran, director of alumni and community relations at Columbia State. "We are fortunate to have a fantastic committee that works hard to make this tournament a huge success every year."

"This golf tournament is the largest Columbia State event held in Marshall County each year," said Elizabeth McDow, director of the Lewisburg campus. "With the help of our current J.R. Moon scholars and golf committee members, and the generous support of local merchant donations and all the golfers, we have been able to fund scholarships for over 165 Marshall County students since the inception of the tournament."

Approximately 120 golfers turned out for the tournament, participating in the scramble as well as putting and "Beat the Pro" contests. More than 75 sponsors and donors showed their support, including PepsiCo, the official drink sponsor; First National Bank, lunch sponsor; First Farmers Bank, putting contest sponsor; Roberts Toyota, hole-in-one contest sponsor; First Commerce Bank, player gift bag sponsor; and Lewisburg Printing, "Beat the Pro" contest sponsor.

Championship Flight Winners

Photo Caption: 1st Place Winners, Team Blue Creek - Pictured, left to right: David McDow, Patrick Davis, Frank Davis and Al Davis.

Photo Caption: 2nd Place Winners, Team H&S Pharmacy - Pictured, left to right: Mike Keny, Jimmy Stitt, Andy Cook and Buddy Wiles.

Photo Caption: 3rd Place Winners - Team Georgia Pacific - Pictured, left to right: Mark Allen, Randy Hunt, Jackie Murray and Jason Martinez.

1st Flight Winners

Photo Caption: 1st Place Winners - Team National Bridle Shop - Pictured, left to right: Roy Lambert, Bobby Beech, John Myhr and Steve Crabtree.

Photo Caption: 2nd Place Winners - Team Hawk Converting - Pictured, left to right: Larry Kidwell, Kirk Kelso, Jim Trousdale and Rick Darling.

Photo Caption: 3rd Place Winners - Team CKNA - Pictured, left to right: Greg Hill, Matt Mulliniks, Troy Cross and Mike Turner.

2nd Flight Winners

Photo Caption:1st Place Winners - Team Walker Die Casting - Pictured, left to right: Matt Harris, Terry Wallace, Jason Hinds and Tommy Harris.

Photo Caption: 2nd Place Winners - Team Burger King - Pictured, left to right: Willie Jones, Ray Turner, Steve Bernard and Steve Konz.

Photo Caption: 3rd Place Winners - Team Law Office of Drew Davidson - Pictured, left to right: Stephen Bowden, Ben Cox, Chancellor J. B. Cox and Drew Davidson.

Closest to Pin Winners

Stephen Bowden

Photo Caption: Closest to the Pin #5: Stephen Bowden

John McLean

Photo Caption: Closest to the Pin #17: John McLean

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. As Tennessee's first community college, Columbia State is committed to increasing access and enhancing diversity at all five campuses. Columbia State is a member of the Tennessee Board of Regents, the sixth largest higher education system in the nation. For more information, please visit www.columbiastate.edu.