Feb 05, 2013

Columbia State Announces Williamson County Development Committee

Committee chaired by Craig Holland - Williamson County President
of First Farmers and Merchants Bank

Photo Caption: Columbia State's Williamson County Development Committee (from left to right) - Dr. Starling "Star" Evins, Pearl Bransford, Craig Holland, Caroline Cross, Richard Herrington, L.K. Browning, Paul Gaddis, Sr. and Dr. Ken Moore. Not pictured: Ronnie Griffeth, Judith Strickland and Paul Pratt, Jr.

Columbia State Community College recently announced the creation of the Williamson County Development Committee, a sub-committee of the Columbia State Foundation Development Committee. The purpose of the Williamson County Development Committee is to be a friend raising-fundraising arm of the Columbia State Community College Foundation with emphasis in Williamson County.

The Committee is chaired by Craig Holland, the Williamson County President of First Farmers and Merchants Bank. Dr. Ken Moore, Alderman at Large for the City of Franklin, just began his term as Vice Chair of the Columbia State Foundation and also provides leadership for the Committee. Following his two year term as Vice Chair, Dr. Moore becomes the Chair of the Columbia State Foundation; he will serve in that capacity for two years.

Holland and Moore are joined by other distinguished community leaders committed to Columbia State and the higher education opportunities it brings to Williamson County. Members include: Caroline Cross, Ronnie Griffeth, Ed.D, Paul Gaddis, Richard Herrington (President of Franklin Synergy), Judith Strickland (Williamson County Juvenile Services), Paul Pratt, Jr. (Full Service Insurance), Dr. Starling "Star" Evins (Chief of Staff, Williamson Medical Center, Chairman of the Williamson Medial Foundation Board of Directors and of Franklin Urological Associates), Pearl Bransford (Claiborne & Hughes Health Center, Inc and Vice Mayor of the City of Franklin) and L.K. Browning (Lee Company). Representing Columbia State on the committee are Dr. Janet F. Smith (president), Elaine Kelsey (executive director of Columbia State's foundation) and Mary Kate Brown (Williamson County development director).

The Committee will primarily guide and assist Columbia State with making community connections, "friend-raising" and communicating the comprehensive College mission of providing a wide range of quality higher education opportunities to the citizens of Williamson County. Specific activities will include: making visits and calls to promote community awareness in coordination with the Annual Fund and other Williamson County initiatives, identifying prospects for the Williamson County Edge of Excellence Annual Fund and other fundraising efforts, and providing advice and recommendations to the Columbia State president on ways to increase Columbia State Foundation friend-raising, fundraising and marketing success in Williamson County.

The focus of the Williamson County Development Committee will be the Williamson County Edge of Excellence Annual Fund, scholarships for Williamson County residents, facility enhancements, and development of Williamson County based programs, notably Commercial Entertainment, Film Crew Technology, Nursing, EMT, Business Management, and Business Information Technology.

The Committee will meet on a quarterly basis, or more frequently if needed.

Columbia State is a two-year college, serving a nine-county area in southern Middle Tennessee with locations in Columbia, Franklin, Lawrenceburg, Lewisburg and Clifton. The Williamson County Campus has served Williamson County residents for more than 30 years, and currently serves more than 1,200 students in the various program areas of Nursing, EMT/Paramedic, Business Technology, Commercial Entertainment, and more. For more information, please visit www.columbiastate.edu.